PEUGEOT SPORT: a timeline

Peugeot has a rich motorsport history, with a breadth of success that rivals struggle to match. We take a look back over the years at some of the highlights…


It entered and won the first ever motor race, the Paris-Rouen in 1894. And just in case you class the 1895 Paris-Bordeaux-Paris as the first real example of motor sport, Peugeot won that, too.

Then there are the classics: Peugeot has triumphed in the Indianapolis 500, the Spa 24 Hours, the French Grand Prix and the Monte Carlo and Safari Rallies.

PEUGEOT SPORT has only been around since 1981, yet it’s already continued the Peugeot winning tradition.

There are its five titles in the World Rally Championship. The four consecutive victories in the demanding Dakar off-road event. And it’s won America’s Pikes Peak International Hill Climb an incredible three times!

And let’s not forget three victories at the Le Mans 24 Hours, wins in the FIA World Rallycross Championship and numerous national wins and titles in a vast range of rallies and track races the world over.



1981 Former rally co-driver Jean Todt forms PEUGEOT SPORT.

1985 The four-wheel drive Peugeot 205 T16 lifts the manufacturers’ and drivers’ World Rally Championship with Timo Salonen.

1987 Peugeot becomes the first car manufacturer to compete in the Dakar Rally. It wins with the 205 T16 which triumphs again in 1988. The 405 T16 wins the two subsequent years.

1992 The Peugeot 905 wins the Le Mans 24-Hours. The following year it finishes first, second and third.


2000 Once again competing in the World Rally Championship, Peugeot wins three consecutive manufacturers’ titles with the 206.

2007 The Peugeot 207 wins the first of three consecutive Intercontinental Rally Challenges. Kris Meeke takes the honours for Peugeot UK in 2009.

2009 At the Le Mans 24 Hours, Peugeot’s 908 HDi FAP finishes first and second.

2013 Peugeot returns to the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in Colorado, USA. Sebastien Loeb uses a 208 to obliterate the previous record and add a third win to PEUGEOT SPORT’s from 1988 and ’89.